Writers’ Trust Commends Three Young Fiction Writers

>>From the Writer’s Trust of Canada

Writers’ Trust Commends Three Young Fiction Writers

Finalists Announced for RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Toronto – May 11, 2016 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced the finalists for a literary award known for discovering and promoting the brightest up-and-coming young writers in Canada.

The RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers rewards writers who are under age 35 and unpublished in book form. Alternating each year between poetry and short fiction, the award is given this year to the author of an exceptional short story. The $5,000 award is supported by the RBC Emerging Artists Project, which invests in developing artists to help build their professional careers. The winner will be announced on June 8 at an event at Toronto’s Royal Conservatory of Music.

A jury composed of fiction writers Eden Robinson, Johanna Skibsrud, andMichael V. Smith read 131 anonymous submissions to select three finalists

Brendan Bowles for “Wyatt Thurst”

Brendan Bowles has won the Toronto Star Short Story Award and has been nominated for the CBC Short Story Prize, the Disquiet International Literary Contest, and the Broken Social Scene Story Award. He was one of two writers nominated for PEN Canada’s New Voices Award in 2013. Bowles lives in Toronto.

Allegra McKenzie
for “This Monstrous Heart”

Allegra McKenzie is a writer based in Wakefield, Quebec. She placed first in the 2014 Quebec Writing Competition, and her short fiction has been published in Geist, Maisonneuve, and Salut King Kong: New English Writing from Quebec. McKenzie is co-owner of Point, a writing and editing business based in the Gatineau Hills.

Hannah Rahimi for “With My Scarf Tied Just So”

Hannah Rahimi grew up in Toronto. She earned an MA from Concordia University in Montreal, and is currently pursuing an MFA at Purdue University in Lafayette, Indiana. Her short fiction has been published inCosmonaut’s Avenue and Drain Magazine.

The finalists will each receive $1,000 and the opportunity to be mentored by an editor, including feedback on their writing and guidance on their career development.

Along with featured works of past years’ finalists, the nominated short fiction by each finalist is available for free download exclusively on iBooks at iTunes.com/BronwenWallace.

“Created to give young writers a boost early in their careers, this prize has honoured dozens of Canadian authors, many of whom have gone on to receive wide critical acclaim for their work,” said Mary Osborne, Executive Director, Writers’ Trust of Canada. “We congratulate this year’s talented nominees on their inclusion on this impressive list, and look forward to reading the work they will produce in years to come.”

“Many young Canadian writers have gained national recognition by being named one of the finalists of the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers,” said Valerie Chort, VP Corporate Citizenship, RBC. “We share the Writers’ Trust of Canada’s goal of nurturing the next generation of Canadian writing talent and we expect to be reading – and reading about – these three authors for a very long time.”

About Bronwen Wallace

Bronwen Wallace was a poet, short story writer, and mentor to many young writers as a creative writing instructor at Queen’s University and St. Lawrence College in Kingston. This prize was established in her honour in 1994 by a group of friends and colleagues. Wallace felt that writers should have more opportunities for recognition early in their careers and so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published poetry or prose in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies, but has not yet been published in book form.

About the Award

Since it was established in 1994, the RBC Bronwen Wallace Award has distinguished 72 young writers with a nomination, many of whom have gone on to receive literary acclaim. Past winners include Michael Crummey, Stephanie Bolster, Alissa York, Sonnet L’Abbé, Alison Pick, Jeramy Dodds, Marjorie Celona, Garth Martens, and, most recently, Alessandra Naccarato.

For more information, visit the press release on the Writer’s Trust of Canada website.

Leave a Comment