The Writers’ Union of Canada announces shortlist for 2014 Danuta Gleed Literary Award

>>From The Writers’ Union of Canada

May 4, 2015 – The Writers’ Union of Canada is pleased to announce the short list of nominees for the eighteenth annual DANUTA GLEED LITERARY AWARD. The Award recognizes the best first English-language collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in 2014.  The Award consists of cash prizes for the three best first collections, with a first prize of $10,000 and two additional prizes of $500.
The jury this year comprised authors Shani Mootoo,Susan Swan, and John Vigna, who determined the short list from 37 collections submitted, some by seasoned writers, others by authors being published for the first time. Those finalists are:
Claire BattershillCircus, McClelland & Stewart
Rivka GalchenAmerican Innovations, HarperCollins Canada
Eliza RobertsonWallflowers, Hamish Hamilton Canada
Mireille SilcoffChez L’Arabe, House of Anansi Press
Janine Alyson YoungHideout Hotel, Caitlin Press
The winners will be announced at The Writers’ Union of Canada’s OnWords Conference on May 30th
The Award was created as a celebration of the life of Danuta Gleed, a writer whose short fiction won several awards before her death in December 1996. Danuta Gleed’s first collection of short fiction, One of the Chosen, was posthumously published by BuschekBooks.  The Award is made possible through a generous donation from John Gleed, in memory of his late wife, and is administered by The Writers’ Union of Canada.

Leave a Comment