Service / Arts Administration

National Awards

CAA Allan Sangster Award
The CAA Allan Sangster Award honours long and meritorious service within the Canadian Association of Authors.

Canadian Library Association Awards
The Canadian Library Association/Association canadienne des bibliothèques and its divisions offer many different awards that honour librarians and trustees. CLA/ACB offers a wide variety of awards, from technology to leadership, that suit professionals in all types of libraries and workplaces.

Editor’s Association of Canada President’s Award for Volunteer Service
The EAC President’s Award for Volunteer Service recognizes outstanding service to the organization, at the branch or national level, by member volunteers. Candidates for the award may have served EAC by conscientiously performing volunteer activities over an extended period of time, taking initiative to identify and solve a critical problem or meet a specific need within the organization, organizing or directing an activity that has a tremendous impact on the association, or inspiring others to participate more fully within the association.

John Hobday Awards in Arts Management
The John Hobday Awards in Arts Management recognize excellence in the arts management profession. The Canada Council for the Arts presents two awards annually to arts managers from any artistic discipline. The two $10,000 awards are designed to allow established and mid-career arts managers to engage in professional development and mentoring.

Lawrence Jackson Outstanding Achievement Award
The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) recognizes outstanding contributions and exemplary commitment and service to PWAC through this award.

Magazines Canada Volunteer Awards
On behalf of Canadian magazines from coast to coast, Magazines Canada awards volunteers in all regions of Canada.

Regional Volunteer Awards
The Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC) established this award in 2005 to recognize the valuable contributions of members who volunteer for PWAC in their regions.

The Writers’ Trust Award for Distinguished Contribution
This prize is presented annually to an individual or an organization in recognition of their long-standing involvement with the Writers’ Trust of Canada. The award honours those individuals and organizations that, through their ongoing commitment of time, energy and resources, have given selflessly to shape and further the aims of the Writers’ Trust.


Atlantic Provinces

APLA Merit Award
Presented at the banquet at the annual conference of the Atlantic Provinces Library Association, the APLA Merit Award honours an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to library services in the Atlantic provinces.

Nova Scotia Library Association Awards
The Nova Scotia Library Association (NSLA) sponsors awards that honour individual achievement in Nova Scotia libraries.

British Columbia




Anne Galler Award for Outstanding Library Service
The award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated achievement in the following areas of competence: significant leadership role in the Quebec library community; exemplary career performance, serving as a model for colleagues in the library profession; and contributions to professional and/or scholarly activities.