Intellectual Freedom

National Awards

Award for the Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada
The Canadian Library Association presents this award, which recognizes and honours outstanding contributions to intellectual freedom in Canada by individuals or groups. Preference is given to librarians and library institutions. However, like-minded individuals such as teachers or authors or groups such as schools or publishers are also eligible.

Canadian Committee for World Press Freedom Award
At the World Press Freedom Day luncheon in Ottawa awards are presented to Canadian media workers who have made significant contributions to the cause. The winner, picked by a prestigious jury of current and former journalists, receives a $2,000 prize.

Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award
The Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE) awards The Tara Singh Hayer Memorial Award to recognize a Canadian journalist who, through his or her work, has made an important contribution to reinforcing and promoting the principle of freedom of the press in this country or elsewhere.

Freedom to Read Award
The Writers’ Union of Canada gives out its Freedom to Read Award each year as part of the celebration of Freedom to Read Week across Canada. The award is given to people who work to help preserve the freedom to read and write in this country.



International Awards

CJFE International Press Freedom Awards
Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE) bestows two International Press Freedom Awards every year to recognize journalists who demonstrate extraordinary courage in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances. To be eligible for the awards, applicants must be nominated by an organization or individual.