The OLA Announces 2011 Forest of Reading Winners

Programme partners the Ontario Library Association (OLA) and Authors at Harbourfront Centre have announced the winners of the 2011 Forest of Reading® Awards. This year’s Forest of Reading® Festival of Trees™ was held at Harbourfront Centre on May 11 and 12, during which the winners were announced. The festival featured two action-packed days of award ceremonies, readings, workshops, book signings, and other exciting entertainment celebrating the love of reading. The Festival of Trees™, Canada’s largest children’s literary event, welcomes more than 8,000 readers annually.

The winners are:

Blue Spruce Award™ (Kindergarten–Grade 2)
Dave Whamond – My Think-A-Ma-Jink

Silver Birch Express Award™ (Grade 3–4)
Ashley Spires – Binky the Space Cat

Silver Birch® Fiction Award (Grade 4–6)
Kevin Sylvester – Neil Flambé and the Marco Polo Murders

Silver Birch® Non-Fiction Award (Grade 4–6)
Valerie Wyatt and Fred Rix – How to Build Your Own Country

Red Maple™ Fiction Award (Grade 7–8)
Vicki Grant – Not Suitable for Family Viewing

Red Maple™ Non-Fiction Award (Grade 7–8)
Mariatu Kamara with Susan McClelland – The Bite of the Mango

White Pine Award™ (Grade 9–12)
Richard Scarsbrook – The Monkeyface Chronicles

Le Prix Tamarack (Grade 4–6; French-language)
Patrice Racine – La Quête du dernier dodo: Les Adventures de Cosmo le Dodo

Le Prix Tamarack Express (Grade 4–6; French-language)
Maxim Cyr and Karine Gottot – Les Dragouilles 2 – Les Bleues de Montréal

For more information on the award winners, visit

1 thought on “The OLA Announces 2011 Forest of Reading Winners”

Leave a Comment