The League of Canadian Poets Announces the 2019 Book Awards Shortlists

Tuesday, April 23, 2019, Toronto, ON: The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2019 Book Awards Shortlists, including the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, and the Raymond Souster Award.

Winners will be announced on Saturday, June 8, 2019, in St. John’s, Newfoundland, at a special awards ceremony to be held during the League of Canadian Poets’ Annual Conference and Annual General Meeting. The winner of the 2019 Sheri-D Wilson Golden Beret Award for Spoken Word will also be announced. Visit for complete information.

Congratulations to all of the shortlisted poets and their publishers for their fine work. Many thanks to the jurors for their dedication to this year’s awards.

Gerald Lampert Memorial Award

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors’ tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award recognizes a debut book of poetry published by a Canadian. The award carries a $2,000 prize and is sponsored by the LCP.

2019 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award Shortlist:

•    Ekke by Klara du Plessis (Palimpsest Press)
•    Quarry by Tanis Franco (University of Calgary Press)
•    Unstable Neighbourhood Rabbit by Mikko Harvey (House of Anansi Press)
•    Dividing the Wayside by Jenny Haysom (Palimpsest Press)
•    Obits. by Tess Liem (Coach House Books)
•    Port of Being by Shazia Hafiz Ramji (Invisible Publishing)

2019 Jury: Adebe DeRango-Adem, Amanda Earl, Jacob McArthur Mooney

Pat Lowther Memorial Award

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman, and is in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975. The award carries a $2,000 prize and is sponsored by the LCP.

2019 Pat Lowther Memorial Award Shortlist:

•    Listen Before Transmit by Dani Couture (Wolsak & Wynn)
•    Ekke by Klara du Plessis (Palimpsest Press)
•    Body Work by Emilia Nielsen (Signature Editions)
•    East and West by Laura Ritland (Véhicule Press)
•    Reunion by Deanna Young (Brick Books)
•    The Missing Field by Jennifer Zilm (Guernica Editions)

2019 Jury: Robert Colman, Brenda Leifso, Shane Neilson

Raymond Souster Award

The Raymond Souster Award is given for a book of poetry by a League of Canadian Poets member. The award honours Raymond Souster, an early founder of the League of Canadian Poets. The award carries a $2,000 prize and is sponsored by the LCP.

2019 Raymond Souster Award Shortlist:

•    Anatomic by Adam Dickinson (Coach House Books)
•    I left nothing inside on purpose by Stevie Howell (McClelland & Stewart)
•    Welcome to the Anthropocene by Alice Major (University of Alberta Press)
•    Tar Swan by David Martin (NeWest Press)
•    Rooster, Dog, Crow by Jim Nason (Frontenac House)
•    Ledi by Kim Trainor (Book*hug)

2019 Jury: Kathy Mac, Maurice Mierau, Concetta Principe

About the League of Canadian Poets

Established in 1966, the League of Canadian Poets is a national non-profit organization dedicated to supporting, engaging, and promoting poets and poetry in Canada. For more information, visit

About National Poetry Month

Established in April 1998 by the League of Canadian Poets, National Poetry Month brings together schools, publishers, booksellers, literary organizations, libraries, and poets from across the country to celebrate poetry and its vital place in Canada’s culture. Visit to see how the League is celebrating.

– 30 –

For more information
Media Contact: Hazel Millar | 416-994-1891