Scotiabank Giller Prize Announces 2011 Longlist

The 2011 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury has announced its longlist of books in the running for this year’s award. The jury selected 16 titles out of 143 books put forward by 55 publishers from every region of Canada.

This year’s jury is made up of: award-winning Canadian writer and 2009 Giller finalist Annabel Lyon; American author, memoirist and Guggenheim fellow Howard Norman; and acclaimed UK playwright and prize-winning novelist Andrew O’Hagan.

The 143 books of fiction received this year represent a nearly 50% increase in submissions received in any other year since the prize was incepted in 1994.

From a large and highly competitive field, the jury selected the following titles for this year’s longlist:

David Bezmozgis for his novel THE FREE WORLD, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Clarke Blaise for his short story collection THE MEAGRE TARMAC, Biblioasis

Lynn Coady for her novel THE ANTAGONIST, House of Anansi Press

Michael Christie for his short story collection THE BEGGAR’S GARDEN, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

Patrick DeWitt for his novel THE SISTERS BROTHERS, House of Anansi Press

*Myrna Dey for her novel EXTENSIONS, NeWest Press (Reader’s Choice)

Esi Edugyan for her novel HALF-BLOOD BLUES, Thomas Allen Publishers

Marina Endicott for her novel THE LITTLE SHADOWS, Doubleday Canada

Zsuzsi Gartner for her short story collection BETTER LIVING THROUGH PLASTIC EXPLOSIVES, Hamish Hamilton Canada

Genni Gunn for her novel SOLITARIA, Signature Editions

Pauline Holdstock for her novel INTO THE HEART OF THE COUNTRY, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd

Wayne Johnston for his novel A WORLD ELSEWHERE, Knopf Canada

Dany Laferrière for his novel THE RETURN (translation, David Homel), Douglas & McIntyre

Suzette Mayr for her novel MONOCEROS, Coach House Books

Michael Ondaatje for his novel THE CAT’S TABLE, McClelland & Stewart

Guy Vanderhaeghe for his novel A GOOD MAN, McClelland & Stewart

Alexi Zentner for his novel TOUCH, Knopf Canada

The shortlisted finalists will be revealed at a news conference in Toronto on Tuesday, October 4th. The winner will be

announced at a gala ceremony in Toronto on November 8, 2011, broadcast on CBC Television.

To find out more, visit



Leave a Comment