Ontario Library Association announces 2015 award recipients

>>From the Ontario Library Association

TORONTO, ON (January 13, 2015): From innovative programs to a longstanding commitment to the library field, the Ontario Library Association (OLA) is thrilled to announce our 2015 award recipients. Awards will be presented to recipients during the annual OLA Super Conference, held from Jan 28 – 31. We recognize each recipient’s outstanding achievements and contribution to their communities.

The award winners are:

  •  OLA President’s Award for Exceptional Achievement: Leading Learning Project by the Canadian Library Association
  •  OLA Larry Moore Distinguished Service Awards: Ken Haycock of Ken Haycock & Associates Inc and Ken Roberts of Hamilton Public Library
  • OLA Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award: Kathy Scardellato of the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL)
  •  OLA Media and Communications Awards: The Grand 92.9, Fergus, ON and CBC Radio 1
  •  OLA Technical Services Award: Connie Mitchell of the Durham District School Board
  •  L’Association des bibliothèques de l’Ontario-Franco’s (ABO-Franco) Prix Micheline-Persaud: Carole Marion of the West Nipissing Public Library
  • Ontario College and University Library Association (OCULA) Lifetime Achievement Award: Jim Brett of the University of Guelph
  •  Ontario Library Information Technology Association (OLITA) Project Award: Cultivating a Hacker Ethic by Innisfil Public Library & IdeaLAB
  • Ontario Public Library Association (OPLA) Advocacy in Action: Excellence in Children’s or Teen Services Award: The Staff of the Atikokan Public Library
  •  OPLA Children’s or Youth Services Librarian of the Year Award: Nadia Danyluk of the Owen Sound & North Grey Union Public Library
  •  OPLA Award for Leadership in Adult Readers’ Advisory: Sharron Smith, Kitchener Public Library
  •  OPLA Lifetime Achievement Award: Susan Warren of the Rideau Lakes Public Library
  • Ontario School Library Association (OSLA) Administrator of the Year Award: Dr. Clara Howitt of the Greater Essex County District School Board
  • OSLA Teacher-Librarian of the Year Award: Judith Andersen of the Durham District School Board

Congratulations to all award recipients! More information on the awards is available at www.accessola.com/awards.

Leave a Comment