The Ontario Library Association Announces 2014 Award Recipients


OLA salutes the best! The Ontario Library Association would like to congratulate the award recipients this year. These awards will be presented during the annual OLA Super Conference, held from January 29, 2013 to February 1, 2014.

The award winners are:

OLA’s Larry Moore Distinguished Service Award: M.J. D’Elia, Acting Head of the Learning & Curriculum Support Team, University of Guelph

OLA’s President’s Award for Exceptional Achievement: Liz Kerr, Conference Coordinator, Ontario Library Association

OLA’s Les Fowlie Intellectual Freedom Award: Progressive Librarians Guild – Greater Toronto Area

OLA’s Technical Services Award: Julie Fisher, School Library Support Technician, Peel District School Board

OLA’s Media and Communications Award: Michael Dawber, CEO Rainy River Public Library

OLA’s Archival and Preservation Achievement Award: Sharon Bentley, Deputy Chief Librarian, King Township Public Library

OLA Champion Award: Ed Torres, President of SkyWordsMedia

ABO-Franco’s Prix Micheline-Persaud: Céline Marcoux-Hamade, Spécialiste des services en français, Toronto Public Library

OCULA’s Lifetime Achievement Award: Mary Ann Mavrinac, Vice Provost, University of Rochester

OCULA’s Award for Special Achievement: HLLR Copyright Literacy in Ontario Colleges

OCULA’s Award for Special Achievement: SPARK – Student Papers & Academic Resource Kit, York University

OLBA’s W.J. Robertson Medallion for Librarian of the Year: Lester Webb, Director, Outreach & Technology, Kingston Frontenac Public Library

OLITA’s Award for Technological Innovation: “GALLOP Portal,” Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal

OPLA James Bain Medallion for Public Library Board Member of the Year: Joyce Cunningham, Library Board Chair, Fort Frances Public Library Technology Centre

OPLA Lifetime Achievement Award: Anne Bailey, Toronto Public Library

OPLA Children’s or Youth Services Librarian of the Year Award: Jody Seeley, Children & Youth Coordinator, Meaford Public Library

OPLA’s Advocacy in Action: Excellence in Children’s or Teen Services Award: Oshawa Public Libraries Task Force for At Risk Children and Youth, Oshawa Public Libraries

OSLA’s Teacher-Librarian of the Year Award: Leslie Holwerda, Lougheed Middle School, Peel District School Board

OSLA’s Administrator of the Year Award: Jeff Kawzenuk, Principal, East Northumberland Secondary School, Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board

OSLA’s Award for Special Achievement: Phillip Jeffrey, Manager, Library and Information Services, Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board

OPLA Special Recognition Award: Rudi Denham, St. Thomas Public Library, for over 10 years of dedication as the Ho-OPLA Editor

OLA Mentoring Committee Special Recognition Award: Jim Brett, as a founding member of the OLA Mentoring Committee

Congratulations to all the award recipients! More information on the awards is available at

Leave a Comment