Man Booker Prize 2011 Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the 2011 Man Booker Prize has been announced, and the selection includes two Canadian writers. The six books, selected from a longlist of 16 are:

Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending (Jonathan Cape – Random House)

Carol Birch Jamrach’s Menagerie (Canongate Books)

Patrick deWitt The Sisters Brothers (Granta)

Esi Edugyan Half Blood Blues (Serpent’s Tail)

Stephen Kelman Pigeon English (Bloomsbury)

A.D. Miller Snowdrops (Atlantic)

The winner of the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction will be announced on October 18 at a dinner at London’s Guildhall and will be broadcast on the BBC.  The winner will receive £50,000 and each of the six shortlisted authors, including the winner, will receive £2,500 and a designer bound edition of their book.  Last year’s winner, The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson, has sold over 250,000 copies in the UK alone.

Find out more about the award at


Leave a Comment