Winners of CAA Literary Awards Revealed

Via Canadian Authors Association

The Canadian Authors Association (CAA) continued its long-held tradition of writers honouring writers and announced the winners of its 2012 Literary Awards competition July 28 during the Leacock Summer Festival in Orillia, Ontario.

Richard Gwyn was awarded the Lela Common Award for Canadian History for Nation Maker (Random House Canada). Gwyn will receive a silver medal and $2000 cash prize. The shortlist for this award included Douglas Gibson (Stories About Storytellers) and Jonathan F. Vance (Maple Leaf Empire).

Patrick deWitt was named the recipient of the CAA Award for Fiction for his novel The Sisters Brothers (House of Anansi), and will also receive a silver medal and $2000 prize. This year’s fiction shortlist included Helen Humphreys (The Reinvention of Love) and Miriam Toews (Irma Voth).

Goran Simić won the CAA Poetry Award for Sunrise in the Eyes of the Snowman (Biblioasis). Simić received a silver medal and $2000 prize. The 2012 poetry shortlist also included E.D. Blodgett (Sleep You a Tree) and Brian Henderson (Sharawadji).

Ryan Flavelle was named the 2012 Emerging Writer for The Patrol: Seven Days in the Life of a Canadian Soldier in Afghanistan (HarperCollins Canada). Flavelle receives a $500 prize.

The awards finalists were announced by CAA Executive Director, Anita Purcell at the association’s annual literary awards dinner, held this year in Swanmore Terrace at the Leacock Museum National Historic Site. During the evening, Douglas Gibson, renowned publisher, editor and author, entertained the audience with a dynamic keynote address on one of the subjects he knows best-great Canadian writers.

The awards were a highlight of this year’s Leacock Summer Festival, and yet another example of CAA’s ongoing tradition of writers helping writers. “It is an honour and privilege,” said Matthew Bin, CAA National President, “for us to partner with the Leacock Summer Festival in recognizing the best that Canadian writers had to offer in the past year.”

Introduced in 1975, the CAA Literary Awards honour Canadian writers who achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal – a tradition originally begun in 1937 with the creation of the Governor General’s medals for literature (now overseen by the Canada Council of the Arts). The competition is open to all writers who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. This event marks the second time the awards have been held during the Leacock Summer Festival.

Founded by Stephen Leacock and several other prominent Canadian writers in 1921, the Canadian Authors Association has continued to maintain a focus on “writers helping writers” since its inception.

Author bios are available at

Leave a Comment