Finalists for 2015 Trillium Book Award Announced

>>View the OMDC press release

TORONTO – Six English  and five French books have been shortlisted for the 2015 Trillium Book Award, the Ontario government’s prestigious award for literature.  Three titles are also shortlisted for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language and three titles for the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French language.

For detailed information on all the 2015 Trillium Book Award finalists click here.

English Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/Prix Trillium:

  • Margaret Atwood, The Stone Mattress (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Dionne Brand, Love Enough (Knopf Canada)
  • Kate Cayley, How You Were Born (Pedlar Press)
  • James King, Old Masters (Cormorant Books)
  • Thomas King, The Back of the Turtle (HarperCollins Publishers)
  • Edmund Metatawabin with Alexandra Shimo, Up Ghost River (Knopf Canada)

French Finalists for the Trillium Book Award/ Prix Trillium:

  • Martine Batanian, Clinique (Éditions Marchand de feuilles)
  • Michel Dallaire, Violoncelle pour lune d’automne (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Blaise Ndala, J’irai danser sur la tombe de Senghor (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Daniel Poliquin, Le Vol de l’ange (Les Éditions du Boréal)
  • Patricia Smart, De Marie de l’Incarnation à Nelly Arcan (Les Éditions du Boréal)

Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry in English language:

  • Brecken Hancock, Broom Broom (Coach House Books)
  • Aisha Sasha John, THOU (BookThug)
  • Deanna Young, House Dreams (Brick Books)

Finalists for the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French language:

  • Diya Lim, Larouspiol suivi de Les enfants du ciel (Les Éditions L’Interligne)
  • Micheline Marchand,  Mauvaise mine (Les Éditions L’Interligne)

The public are invited to attend a special event on June 16, 2015 where the finalists will read from their nominated works. The event will be held in the Bram & Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library, 789 Yonge Street (doors open at 6:30 p.m. and the readings begin at 7:00 p.m.).

Winners will be announced on June 17, 2015.

Leave a Comment