Finalists Announced for the 2014 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Awards

>>From the Canadian Children’s Book Centre

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is excited to announce the finalists for its seven major children’s book awards:

  • TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($30,000)
  • Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000)
  • Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction ($10,000)
  • Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000)
  • John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000)
  • Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy ($5,000)

The winners will be announced at the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Awards and Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse – two invitation-only gala events in Toronto on November 6 and Montreal on October 28. Overall, $130,000 in prize monies will be awarded.

The nominated books exemplify some of the very best work by Canadian authors and illustrators. The Canadian Children’s Book Centre is proud to share these titles and the juries’ notes with you.

This year, TD is once again partnering with CBC Books to present the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Fan Choice Award. Young people across Canada are encouraged to vote for their favourite book online at, starting on September 18, 2014. One lucky voter will be selected to win a trip to Toronto to meet their favourite author/illustrator and to present the award at the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award gala event on November 6, 2014.
Find the full list of nominees in the official press release on the CCBC website.

Leave a Comment