Congratulations to the Winners of CBA Libris Awards 2009

Margaret Atwood, Joseph Boyden and Mélanie Watt were among the big winners revealed at Canadian Booksellers Association’s (CBA’s) Libris Awards 2009 Presentation, which took place on June 20, 2009 at the Radisson Admiral Hotel in Toronto during CBA’s inaugural Summer Conference.

Unique in their commitment to acknowledging the best among the chain of talented professionals who deliver great books to Canadian readers, and nominated and voted on by members of the Canadian bookselling community, CBA Libris Awards honour outstanding achievement by authors and editors, sales reps and distributors, booksellers and publishers.

Joseph Boyden and Mélanie Watt were both double-winners. Boyden’s critically acclaimed Through Black Spruce won the Fiction Book of the Year Award, and he won Author of the Year honours for his outstanding literary work, contribution to Canadian culture and support to the bookselling industry. For the second year in a row, Mélanie Watt was recognized for both her storytelling and illustration talents, when she was named Children’s Author and Children’s Illustrator of the Year.

In the Non-fiction category Margaret Atwood’s thoughtful take on the concept of debt, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth (House of Anansi Press), came out on top.

Capturing the Book Design of the Year Award was Mariko Tamaki’s Skim (Groundwood Books), stunningly designed by Jillian Tamaki. The Sales Rep winner, from Ontario, was Penguin Canada’s Adrienne Kerr, and the Editor of the Year recipient was Cormorant Books’ Marc Côté.

In the Bookseller categories, winners include Specialty Bookseller of the Year honouree Little Sister’s Book & Art Emporium (Vancouver) and Titles Bookstore – McMaster University (Hamilton ON), which took The Campus Bookseller of the Year title. The industry’s pick for Bookseller of the Year is McNally Robinson Booksellers, an independent chain with stores in Winnipeg, Saskatoon and—as of last spring—Toronto

In the publishing arena, the reigning Small Press and Publisher of the Year are Toronto’s Cormorant Books (for the second year in a row) and House of Anansi Press, respectively, while North 49 Books has earned Distributor of the Year bragging rights for the third year running. Last year’s Publisher of the Year, Penguin Group (Canada) was recognized this year for Marketing Achievement relating to their Extraordinary Canadians campaign.

A complete list of winners of CBA Libris Awards 2009 can be found on page two of the press release.

Leave a Comment