Writers’ Trust of Canada – Best Books of the Year

2020 posed exceptional challenges to many, including here at the Writers’ Trust. Unable to hold in-person events, our celebrations turned digital and our fundraising galas were reimagined. In spite of the obstacles we were delighted to step up and support Canadian authors at a historically record level. We are particularly proud of the Canadian Writers’ Emergency Relief Fund … Read more

Authors Honoured for Literary Contributions to Canada

Writers’ Trust delivers $100,000 to 4 writers for career achievement Toronto – December 2, 2020  –  The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today the winners of four $25,000 prizes that spotlight exceptional literary talents operating in the genres of fiction, poetry, and literature for young readers. Unlike literary awards that recognize authors for a single book, these awards are … Read more

Writers’ Trust Names Best Books of the Year

Prizewinners for fiction and nonfiction revealed Toronto – November 18, 2020 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada celebrated the best fiction and nonfiction books of the year through the presentation of two of the country’s richest literary awards and $150,000 in prize money. The announcements were made this afternoon during the Writers’ Trust Awards: Books of … Read more

Writers’ Trust Spotlights Emerging Writers to Watch

Four prizewinners named for outstanding fiction and poetry October 21, 2020, Toronto – The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced four prizewinners for its slate of emerging writers prizes. Each prize awards $10,000 and has a storied track record of discovering Canada’s brightest writers at the outset of their careers. The announcement was made this afternoon … Read more

Announcing the Finalists for the Year’s Best Published Short Story by an Emerging Canadian Writer

The $10,000 Journey Prize recognizes new and developing writers for the best short story published in a Canadian literary journal or annual anthology. The prizewinner will receive $10,000, each finalist receives $1,000, and the publication that originally published the winning piece receives $2,000. Now in its 32nd year, the prize has become a celebrated honour … Read more