Announcing Freedom to Read Week 2017: February 26 to March 4

For more information: Media inquiries, Hazel Millar: | 416-994-1891 All other inquiries: | 416-975-9366 ANNOUNCING FREEDOM TO READ WEEK 2017: FEBRUARY 26–MARCH 4 Events across Canada celebrate freedom of expression, challenge censorship     “Freedom of expression is a fundamental right in any democracy because we are our stories. Without our stories we … Read more

BPC’s FoEC Drafts Letter to Newfoundland and Labrador Premier

The Issues Group within our Freedom of Expression Committee drafted the following letter in reaction to the proposed increase of sales tax on books and the planned closure of libraries in Newfoundland and Labrador. The letter was sent to Premier Ball, as well as provincial cabinet ministers Cathy Bennett, Dale Kirby and Christopher Mitchelmore. Download the … Read more

The Writer’s Union of Canada Launches #WhyWritersMatter Campaign

>>From the Writer’s Union of Canada THE WRITERS’ UNION OF CANADA LAUNCHES #WHYWRITERSMATTER CAMPAIGN In conjunction with the inaugural Canadian Writers’ Summit taking place June 15-19, 2016 at Harbourfront in Toronto, The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC) is launching its#WhyWritersMatter Campaign. Canadian writers play an essential and pivotal role in every aspect of our lives. … Read more

2015 Tom Fairley Award Short List Announced

>>From the Editor’s Association of Canada 2015 Tom Fairley Award Short List AnnouncedFR Toronto, May 31, 2016—The Editors’ Association of Canada (Editors Canada) has announced the finalists for the 2015 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. The Tom Fairley Award recognizes an editor’s outstanding contribution to a work published in Canada in English or French in … Read more

Short List Announced for the 2015 Danuta Gleed Literary Award

>>From the Writer’s Union of Canada Short List Announced for the 2015 Danuta Gleed Literary Award The Writers’ Union of Canada is pleased to announce the short list of nominees for the nineteenth annual DANUTA GLEED LITERARY AWARD. The Award recognizes the best first collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in 2015 … Read more