ACP to honour publisher Margie Wolfe and bookseller Sharon Budnarchuk with annual award

The Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP) is pleased to announce that Margie Wolfe, president and publisher of Second Story Press, will receive the 2020 President’s Award. ACP is also delighted to award Sharon Budnarchuk, bookseller extraordinaire, with honorary lifetime membership in the association. President’s Award recipient Margie Wolfe has worked in publishing for forty years. … Read more

Freedom to Read Week Marks 35th Anniversary

National event celebrates free expression, encourages discussion   “The freedom to read is important,” say Michelle Arbuckle and Marg Anne Morrison, co-chairs of the Freedom of Expression Committee. “We encourage Canadians to celebrate their freedom to read and oppose censorship.” Toronto, February 15, 2019—The Book and Periodical Council (BPC) and its Freedom of Expression Committee are … Read more

Writers’ Trust announces 2018 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize finalists

Five Canadian authors shortlisted for $50,000 annual award Toronto – September 26, 2018 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada today announced the finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing authors of this year’s best novel or short story collection. Each finalist receives $5,000 and the winner, announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony … Read more