Canadian Authors Association Announces Literary Awards Shortlist

The Canadian Authors Association is pleased to announce the Canadian Authors Association Literary Awards shortlist for 2011. The winners will be announced at the CAA Literary Awards banquet on Saturday, July 23, 2011, during the Leacock Summer Festival at the Leacock Museum National Historic Site in Orillia, Ontario.

The shortlisted authors will be invited to read from their work on Saturday as well. Open to the public, these readings and the CAA Literary Awards dinner will be one of the many highlights of this annual festival.

The 2011 CAA Literary Awards shortlists are as follows:

CAA Award for Fiction

Ken Finkleman, Toronto, Ontario, for Noah’s Turn, published by HarperCollins Canada

Tom Rachman, London, England, for The Imperfectionists, published by Dial Press, distributed by Random House of Canada

Robert J. Sawyer, Mississauga, Ontario, for Watch, published by Penguin Group (Canada)

Lela Common Award for Canadian History

Shelagh D. Grant, Peterborough, Ontario, for Polar Imperative: A History of Arctic Sovereignty in North America, published by Douglas & McIntyre

Stuart Houston and Bill Waiser, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, for Tommy’s Team: The People Behind the Douglas Years, published by Fifth House Publishing

Ross King, Oxfordshire, England, for Defiant Spirits: The Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven, published by Douglas & McIntyre

CAA Award for Poetry

Don Coles, Montreal, Quebec, for Where We Might Have Been, published by Véhicule Press

Garry Gottfriedson, Kamloops, British Columbia, for Skin Like Mine, published by Ronsdale Press

Julia McCarthy, Kennetcook, Nova Scotia, for Return to Erebus, published by Brick Books

Information about the CAA Literary Awards and this year’s shortlisted authors is available at

Leave a Comment