Canadian Book Industry Virtual Town Hall / Assemblée publique virtuelle de l’industrie canadienne du livre

(le français suit) Canadian Book Industry Virtual Town Hall: Share your recovery measure ideas with Minister of Canadian Heritage, the Honourable Steven Guilbeault Moderated by the Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP) and l’Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL) Canadian Heritage, in collaboration with ACP and ANEL, invites the Canadian publishing industry to a virtual … Read more

2020 Alberta Book Publishing Awards Winners Announced

September 10, 2020, Edmonton – The Book Publishers Association of Alberta (BPAA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Alberta Book Publishing Awards. The winners represent the height of the Alberta book publishing industry as adjudicated by experts and publishing professionals from across Canada. Although we wish we could have celebrated these achievements … Read more

Indexing Society of Canada announces winner of the Diversity in Canadian Publishing Bursary Award for 2020

August 31, 2020, Toronto: The Indexing Society of Canada / Société canadienne d’indexation (ISC/SCI) is pleased to announce that Sandra Muchekeza is the 2020 ISC/SCI Diversity in Canadian Publishing Bursary Award recipient. The selection committee received ten applications, from which four applicants were shortlisted. Sandra Muchekeza was born and raised in Kenya before moving to … Read more

Announcing the Finalists for the Year’s Best Published Short Story by an Emerging Canadian Writer

The $10,000 Journey Prize recognizes new and developing writers for the best short story published in a Canadian literary journal or annual anthology. The prizewinner will receive $10,000, each finalist receives $1,000, and the publication that originally published the winning piece receives $2,000. Now in its 32nd year, the prize has become a celebrated honour … Read more

Announcing the finalists for the $10,000 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers

The Dayne Ogilvie Prize is presented annually to an emerging writer from the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer community whose published work demonstrates great literary promise. New in 2020, the cash prize has been doubled to $10,000; finalists will each receive $1,000. Today we continue a week-long celebration of emerging writer prizes by the … Read more