2013 CAA Awards Shortlist Announced

Via the Canadian Authors Association

The Canadian Authors Association is pleased to announce the CAA Literary Awards shortlists for 2013. Introduced in 1975, these awards continue the association’s long tradition of honouring Canadian writers who achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal. The nine finalists were selected from over 300 nominations.

The 2013 CAA Literary Awards shortlists are as follows:

CAA Award for Fiction

• Tricia Dower, Brentwood Bay, British Columbia, for Stony River, published by Penguin Group Canada

• Vincent Lam, Toronto, Ontario, for The Headmaster’s Wager, published by Doubleday Canada

• Christopher Meades, Burnaby, British Columbia, for The Last Hiccup, published by ECW Press

 Lela Common Award for Canadian History

• Tim Cook, Ottawa, Ontario, for Warlords: Borden, Mackenzie King, and Canada’s World Wars, published by Penguin Group Canada

• Michael S. Cross, Halifax, Nova Scotia, for A Biography of Robert Baldwin: The Morning-Star of Memory, published by Oxford University Press

• Barry Gough, Victoria, British Columbia, for Juan de Fuca’s Strait: Voyages in the Waterway of Forgotten Dreams, published by Harbour Publishing

CAA Award for Poetry

• Julie Bruck, San Francisco, California, for Monkey Ranch, published by Brick Books

• Emily McGiffin, Smithers, British Columbia, for Between Dusk and Night, published by Brick Books

• Don McKay, St. John’s, Newfoundland, for Paradoxides, published by McClelland & Stewart

The shortlisted authors have been invited to participate in evening readings on Friday, June 14, at the Lakehead University Orillia Campus. Free and open to the public, these readings are part of the Canadian Authors’ CanWrite! 2013 conference.

The final winners for each category will be announced the following evening, June 15, at the CAA Literary Awards Banquet & Gala at the Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, a highlight of this year’s CanWrite! conference.

Also open to the public, the Banquet & Gala will feature Andrew Westoll (The Chimps of Fauna Santuary) as Keynote, Charles Foran, PEN Canada, as guest speaker, and funnyman Bruce Pirrie as Master of Ceremonies.

A limited number of tickets for the dinner and awards banquet are available ($60 or two for $100). To purchase tickets and RSVP, visit http://canadianauthors.org/conference/caa-literary-awards-gala-2/.

Founded by Stephen Leacock and several other prominent Canadian writers in 1921, the Canadian Authors Association has continued its focus on “writers helping writers” since its inception. Some 25,000 writers have been members of the CAA in its 92-year history, including Bliss Carman, Nellie McClung, and Robert W. Service.

Information about the CAA Literary Awards and this year’s shortlisted authors is available at http://canadianauthors.org/conference/2013-caa-awards-shortlist/.


Leave a Comment