2013 CAA Emerging Writer Award Winner Announced

Via the Canadian Authors Association 2013 

The Canadian Authors Association is pleased to announce the 2013 winners of the CAA Emerging Writer Award. This year the award will be shared by two promising literary talents:

Claire Battershill has published fiction, poetry, and reviews in several literary publications. She won the CBC Literary Award for Short Fiction for the title story for her forthcoming collection, Circus. When she was sixteen, she won the League of Canadian Poets’ National Poetic License Contest. In 2008, she worked as a research assistant for Margaret Atwood’s Massey Lecture, Payback. She currently teaches English and Creative Writing at the University of Toronto and the Ontario College of Art and Design.

Jay Bahadar is a Canadian freelance journalist and author of The Pirates of Somalia, published in seven countries and in four languages. When the Somali pirates exploded in international news in late 2008, Bahadur quit his job and flew to Somalia on a quest to meet some present-day buccaneers.

He has published articles in The Times, The New York Times, Financial Times, and The Globe and Mail. He has worked as a freelance correspondent for CBS News, and has appeared on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, CNN, Bloomberg, the BBC, NPR, and the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

About This Award

This award is given to a writer under 30 deemed to show most promise in the field of literary creation. There are no restrictions as to what field, and a winner may be nominatined – and selected – for work in a variety of forms or genres, published or unpublished. nominations for this award may come from publishers, agents, creative writing instructors, branches of the Canadian Authors Association, or other professional authors.

Readings and Presentations

The authors have been invited to participate in evening readings on Friday, June 14, at the Lakehead University Orillia Campus. Free and open to the public, these readings are part of the Canadian Authors’ CanWrite! 2013 conference.

The award prize will be presented the following evening, June 15, at of the CAA Literary Awards Banquet & Gala at the Best Western Plus Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre, a highlight of this year’s CanWrite! conference.

Also open to the public, the Banquet & Gala will feature Andrew Westoll (The Chimps of Fauna Santuary) as Keynote, Charles Foran, PEN Canada, as guest speaker, and funnyman Bruce Pirrie as Master of Ceremonies.

A limited number of tickets for the dinner and awards banquet are available ($60 or two for $100). To purchase tickets and RSVP, visit http://canadianauthors.org/conference/caa-literary-awards-gala-2/.

Founded by Stephen Leacock and several other prominent Canadian writers in 1921, the Canadian Authors Association has continued its focus on “writers helping writers” since its inception. Some 25,000 writers have been members of the CAA in its 92-year history, including Bliss Carman, Nellie McClung, and Robert W. Service.

Information about the CAA Literary Awards and this year’s shortlisted authors is available at http://canadianauthors.org/conference/2013-caa-awards-shortlist/.


Leave a Comment