Andreas Schroeder receives Graeme Gibson Award

Via Writers’ Union of Canada

Author Andreas Schroeder was presented with the Graeme Gibson Award by The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC) at its Annual General Meeting on May 26, 2012. Established by the Union in 1991 for “varied and remarkable contributions to improve the circumstances of writers in Canada,” the award was first given to Graeme Gibson. Schroeder is its fourth recipient.

Andreas Schroeder was the Chair of The Writers’ Union in 1976/77 and was instrumental in creating Canada’s Public Lending Right (PLR), which came into existence in 1986. The Public Lending Right provides for a modest but critical annual payment to Canadian book authors whose works are available in Canadian libraries for lending. As early as 1972 writers including Marian Engel began lobbying for a Public Lending Right in Canada. Andreas got involved in earnest in 1975, and it took 11 more years of effort before the Public Lending Right Commission (PLRC) came into being, when Matt Cohen was TWUC Chair. Andreas then became the PLRC’s Founding Chair (1985-1988) and continued to serve on its Board from 1988 to 2008. By PLR’s 25th anniversary in 2011, it was mailing cheques totalling $9.9 million to 17,487 Canadian authors.

“Every Canadian writer has Andreas to thank, as one who worked so hard over the years to make PLR happen and to make it work,” said Greg Hollingshead, Writers’ Union Chair. “It’s been a wonderful legacy for a quarter century of Canadian writing.”

For more information, visit The Writers’ Union of Canada:

Leave a Comment