Writers’ Trust of Canada announces Shaughnessy Cohen Prize shortlist

The unfinished border between Maine and New Brunswick, a biography of Sir John A. Macdonald, a pine beetle epidemic, and two biographies on Pierre Trudeau make up The Writers’ Trust of Canada’s Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing shortlist.

The Shaughnessy Cohen prize, established in honour of a Windsor, Ontario, MP who died in December 1998, is now in its twelfth year. The prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book that captures a political subject of interest to Canadian readers.

This year’s finalists are:

  • Ron Graham, The Last Act: Pierre Trudeau, the Gang of Eight, and the Fight for Canada (Allen Lane Canada)
  • Richard Gwyn, Nation Maker: Sir John A. Macdonald: His Life, Our Times; Volume Two 1867 – 1891 (Random House Canada)
  • Max and Monique Nemni; George Tombs, trans., Trudeau Transformed: The Shaping of a Statesment, 1944 – 1965 (McClelland & Stewart)
  • Andrew Nikiforuk, Empire of the Beetle: How Human Folly and a Tiny Bug Are Killing North America’s Great Forests (Greystone Books/David Suzuki Foundation)
  • Jacques Poitras, Imaginary Line: Life on an Unfinished Border (Goose Lane Editions)

The winner of the $25,000 prize, founded in memory of Canadian politician Shaughnessy Cohen, will be announced April 25 at the Politics and the Pen Gala at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier in Ottawa.

Leave a Comment