OLA announces 2012 Evergreen Award shortlist

The Ontario Library Association has announced its shortlist for the 2012 Evergreen Award, which honours the best in Canadian fiction and non-fiction titles.

Selected by a committee of librarians, this year’s nominees are:

  • The Accident, Linwood Barclay (Doubleday Canada)
  • Bedtime Story, Robert J. Wiersema (Random House Canada)
  • The Far Side of the Sky, Daniel Kalla (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Mennonites Don’t Dance, Darcie Friesen Hossack (Thistledown Press)
  • Natural Order, Brian Francis (Doubleday Canada)
  • Requiem, Frances Itani (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Shelter, Frances Greenslade (Random House Canada)
  • They Fight Like Soldiers, They Die Like Children, Roméo Dallaire (Random House Canada)
  • Under an Afghan Sky: A Memoir of Captivity, Mellissa Fung (HarperCollins Canada)
  • Various Positions, Martha Schabas (Doubleday Canada)

During the month of October, the general public is invited to vote for their favourite shortlisted book. The winner will be announced in November and the award presented at the OLA Conference in February 2013. Last year, Emma Donoghue took the Evergreen Award for Room (HarperCollins Canada).

Leave a Comment