Naomi Klein wins Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction

>>From the Writers’ Trust of Canada

October 14, 2014 – Toronto – The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced tonight that Naomi Klein has won the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction for This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. the Climatepublished by Knopf Canada. The prize is the richest annual literary award for a book of nonfiction published in Canada.

The prize was awarded by the Hon. Hilary M. Weston in Toronto’s Art Gallery of Ontario at a salon-style gathering of more than 200 members of the literary, philanthropic, and arts communities. Renowned Canadian performers enlivened the evening with dramatic readings of the nominated titles. The event was hosted by Shelagh Rogers, broadcast journalist and host of CBC Radio One’sThe Next Chapter. In addition to the $60,000 prize, Klein received a sculpture created by crystal artist Mark Raynes Roberts.

Prize finalists were selected by a jury composed of Charles Foran, whose biography Mordecai won the prize in 2011; Priscila Uppal, a writer and creative writing professor; and nonfiction writer Merrily Weisbord. In selecting the winner these jurors were joined by Peter Mansbridge, chief correspondent for CBC News and anchor of The National; and Deepa Mehta, award-winning film director and screenwriter. Their citation reads:

This groundbreaking book’s exploration of climate change from the perspective of how capitalism functions produces fresh insights, and its examination of the interconnectedness between our relationship with nature and the creation of better, fairer societies presents a radical proposal. The author’s urgency and outrage is balanced by meticulous documentation and passionate argument. Heart and mind go hand in hand in this magisterial response to a present crisis.

Leave a Comment