Jury Announced and Call for Submissions Issued for the 15th Annual Danuta Gleed Literary Award

The Writers’ Union of Canada and John Gleed are pleased to announce the jury for the $10,000 Danuta Gleed Literary Award, Canada’s pre-eminent award for the best first Canadian collection of short fiction in the English language, now celebrating its 15th year.

This year’s jury comprises authors Gail Anderson-Dargatz, Robin McGrath and Hal Niedzviecki.

A short list will be announced in early May 2012, with the winner and two finalists being named in late May 2012, in conjunction with The Writers’ Union of Canada’s Annual General Meeting.  The winner receives $10,000 and each of the two finalists is awarded $500.

To be eligible, books must be first collections of short fiction written by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident and published in Canada in the English language in the 2011 calendar year.  The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2012. Eligible titles may be submitted by publishers according to submission guidelines available at http://writersunion.ca/cn_danutagleed.asp.

The Danuta Gleed Literary Award was first given in 1998 for books published in 1997.  The 2012 awards ceremony, for books published in 2011, will mark the 15th anniversary of the prize.

Leave a Comment