Shortlist announced for Canadian Authors Association 2012 Literary Awards

Via Canadian Authors Association

The shortlist for the Canadian Authors Association’s 2012 Literary Awards was announced on May 20, 2012 at the association’s CanWrite! conference in Orillia, Ontario.

The shortlist is as follows:

CAA Award for Fiction

Patrick deWitt, Portland, Oregon, for The Sisters Brothers, published by House of Anansi Press

Helen Humphreys, Kingston, Ontario, for The Reinvention of Love, published by HarperCollins Canada

Miriam Toews, Toronto, Ontario for Irma Voth, published by Alfred A. Knopf

Lela Common Award for Canadian History

Douglas Gibson, Toronto, Ontario, for Stories About Storytellers, published by ECW Press

Richard Gwyn, Toronto, Ontario, for Nation Maker – Sir John A. Macdonald: His Life, Our Times, published by Random House Canada

Jonathan F. Vance, London, Ontario, for Maple Leaf Empire: Canada, Britain, and Two World Wars, published by Oxford University Press

Award for Poetry

E.D. Blodgett, Surrey, British Columbia, for Apostrophes VII: Sleep’ You’ a Tree, published by University of Alberta Press

Brian Henderson, Kitchener, Ontario, for Sharawadji, published by Brick Books

Goran Simić, Edmonton, Alberta, for Sunrise in the Eyes of the Snowman, published by Biblioasis

The winners of all three genres will be announced at the CAA Literary Awards dinner on Saturday, July 28, 2012, during the Leacock Summer Festival at the Leacock Museum National Historic Site in Orillia, Ontario. The shortlisted authors will be invited to read from their works during the Festival as well.

Introduced in 1975, the CAA Literary Awards continue the association’s long tradition of honouring Canadian writers who achieve excellence without sacrificing popular appeal. The above nine finalists were selected from nearly 300 nominations.

Founded by Stephen Leacock and several other prominent Canadian writers in 1921, the Canadian Authors Association has continued to carry out its goal of “writers helping writers” since its inception. Some 25,000 writers have been members of the CAA in its 91-year history, including Bliss Carman, Nellie McClung, and Robert W. Service.

Information about the CAA Literary Awards and this year’s shortlisted authors is available at

Leave a Comment