Call for Submissions – Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Call for Submissions – Danuta Gleed Literary Award


The Writers’ Union of Canada and John Gleed are pleased to announce that submissions are being accepted until January 31, 2011, for the 2010 DANUTA GLEED LITERARY AWARD for best first Canadian collection of short fiction in the English language.


One $10,000 prize for the best first collection of short fiction; second and third prizes in the amount of $500 each. Winners will be announced on May 28, 2011, during the Annual General Meeting of The Writers’ Union of Canada.


We are proud to announce that Douglas Glover, J. Jill Robinson, and Claire Holden Rothman will serve as the jury.


Eligible titles are first collections of short fiction written by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident and published in Canada in the English language in the 2010 calendar year.

Please send five (5) of each eligible title, along with a cover page outlining author, title, and publisher to:

The Writers’ Union of Canada
90 Richmond Street East, Suite 200
Toronto, Ontario, M5C 1P1

Submission deadline: JANUARY 31, 2011

Danuta Gleed’s first collection of short stories, One of the Chosen, was posthumously published by BuschekBooks in 1997. All royalties from sales of her book will go to the Award.

At the Writers’ Union of Canada, we support the country’s authors by advocating for their rights, freedoms, and economic well-being. The Writers’ Union of Canada helps professional authors to stand together while they work alone.

Leave a Comment