Announcing Today’s 2018 Forest of Reading Award Winners!


Announcing Today’s
2018 Forest of Reading Award Winners!

The votes are in! Over 250,000 children have participated in the Ontario Library Association’s (OLA) annual Forest of Reading program and have helped to choose the best Canadian authors and illustrators of our time. The following awards were presented today at the Toronto Festival of Trees, a “rock star concert for authors” hosted at the Harbourfront Centre.


The 2018 Blue Spruce
Award Winner
The 2018 Red Maple Fiction Award Winner The 2018 White Pine Award Winner
Shark Lady: The True
Story of How Eugenie Clark Became the Ocean’s
Most Fearless Scientist
Jess Keating & Marta Álvarez Miguéns
The Winnowing
Vikki VanSickle
(Scholastic Canada Ltd.)
Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined
Danielle Younge-Ullman
(Razorbill Canada)
Glen Gretzky, Lauri Holomis
& Kevin Sylvester
(Puffin Canada)

The Little Boy Who
Lived Down the Drain
Carolyn Huizinga Mills & Brooke Kerrigan
(Fitzhenry & Whiteside, Limited)

The Way Back Home
Allan Stratton
(Scholastic Canada Ltd.)

Summer’s End
Joel A. Sutherland
(Scholastic Canada Ltd.)

The Pain Eater
Beth Goobie
(Second Story Press)

Optimists Die First
Susin Nielsen
(Tundra Books)


Six more awards will be presented Wednesday and Thursday
as the Festival continues! 

Happy Reading!

From the Folks at the Forest of Reading