Ontario Library Association announces recipients of the OLA New Library Building Awards

Via the Ontario Library Association

The Ontario Library Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2013 OLA New Library Building Awards.

The purpose of the OLA New Library Building Awards is to encourage and showcase excellence in the architectural design and planning of libraries in Ontario. The competition runs every third year to allow a critical number of projects in all types of libraries to accumulate.

This year’s recipients are:

• Centennial College – Library and Academic Facility

Diamond Schmitt Architects

• Kingston Frontenac Public Library – Sydenham Public Library

Shoalts & Zaback Architects Ltd.

• Nipissing University and Canadore College – Harris Learning Library

Diamond Schmitt Architects

• Orillia Public Library

Perkins+Will Canada Inc.

• Waterloo Public Library – John M. Harper Branch

Teeple Architects

• Wellington County Library – Puslinch Branch

L Alan Grinham Architect Inc

• Whitby Public Library – Brooklin Branch

Perkins+Will Canada Inc.

Through their partnerships with architectural firms, the award recipients have created wonderful community spaces. These projects are particularly crucial given that Ontario’s libraries face an infrastructure crisis if further funding resources are not committed. The OLA salutes our winners’ dedication to meeting the demand for multi-functional library buildings that serve the needs of their communities and organizations.

The 2013 award presentation will occur at the Annual Institute on the Library as Place being held at Bram and Bluma Appel Salon, Toronto Reference Library, Toronto, ON July 9, 2013.

Leave a Comment