The Scotiabank Giller Prize presents its 2015 shortlist

>>From the Scotiabank Giller Prize.

The Scotiabank Giller Prize presents its 2015 shortlist

Toronto, ON – (October 5, 2015) – Today, at the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto, more than 100 media and members of the publishing industry gathered as the 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist was unveiled.*

CBC Television’s Rick Mercer hosted the special event. Jury members John Boyne, Alison Pick, Cecil Foster and Alexander MacLeod were on hand to announce the 2015 finalists and read a citation for each title.

The five titles were chosen from a longlist of 12 books announced on September 9, 2015. One hundred and sixty-eight titles were submitted by 63 publishers from every region of the country.

The books shortlisted for the 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize are:

  • André Alexis for his novel Fifteen Dogs, published by Coach House Books
  • Samuel Archibald for his story collection Arvida, published by Biblioasis, translated from the French by Donald Winkler
  • Rachel Cusk for her novel Outline, published by Harper Perennial, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Heather O’Neill for her story collection Daydreams of Angels, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Anakana Schofield for her novel Martin John, published by A John Metcalf Book, an imprint of Biblioasis

The shortlist was selected by the esteemed five-member jury panel made up of Irish author John Boyne (Jury Chair), Canadian writers Cecil Foster, Alexander MacLeod and Alison Pick, and British author Helen Oyeyemi.

The 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist books are available in accessible format for print-disabled Canadians through the National Network for Equitable Library Service (NNELS). NNELS is a digital library of accessible format books for Canadians with perceptual disabilities, made available through Canada’s public library network.

For the 3rd year in a row, the Scotiabank Giller Prize will present a series of special readings featuring this year’s shortlisted authors, taking place in Vancouver on October 21, Halifax on November 2 and Toronto on November 9. Between the Pages: An Evening with the Scotiabank Giller Prize Finalists will take you inside the minds and creative lives of the 2015 shortlisted authors. For venue and ticket information, please visit:

This year, the Scotiabank Giller Prize formed a partnership with Canada’s foremost entertainment company, Cineplex Entertainment. “The relationship between cinema and the written word is a natural one,” says Jack Rabinovitch. “We’re so pleased that Canadians from coast to coast will catch a glimpse of the books shortlisted for the prize in special trailers featured at Cineplex’s 162 theatres across the country.”

The 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize award ceremony hosted by Rick Mercer, will air on CBC Television on Tuesday, November 10, at 9 p.m. (10 AT/10:30 NT), and will be live-streamed from

About the Prize
The Scotiabank Giller Prize strives to highlight the very best in Canadian fiction year after year. The prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch. Visit us at

For more information, visit the press release on the Scotiabank Giller Prize website.

Leave a Comment