Writers’ Trust of Canada announces Shaughnessy Cohen Prize shortlist

The unfinished border between Maine and New Brunswick, a biography of Sir John A. Macdonald, a pine beetle epidemic, and two biographies on Pierre Trudeau make up The Writers’ Trust of Canada’s Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing shortlist.

The Shaughnessy Cohen prize, established in honour of a Windsor, Ontario, MP who died in December 1998, is now in its twelfth year. The prize is awarded annually to a non-fiction book that captures a political subject of interest to Canadian readers.

This year’s finalists are:

Read more

Writers’ Trust Posting Canadian Authors to the Yukon

Future Berton House Writers-in-Residence Named

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced the next four writers to attend the Berton House Writers’ Retreat, Canada’s most northern author residency program. Each writer will travel to Dawson City, Yukon, to live and work for three months in the childhood home of Pierre Berton.

“The Writers’ Trust is proud to provide a unique sanctuary to Canadian writers through the Berton House Writers’ Retreat,” said Peter Kahnert, Writers’ Trust Chair and Senior Vice President, Raymond James Ltd. “These four talented writers have a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to travel to Dawson City and fully apply themselves to their current works-in-progress.”

Read more

Hon. Hilary M. Weston and the Writers’ Trust Announce Charles Foran Winner of $60,000 Literary Award for Mordecai: The Life & Times

The Writers’ Trust of Canada has announced that Charles Foran has won the inaugural Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction for Mordecai: The Life & Times, published by Knopf Canada. The prize is the richest annual literary award for a book of nonfiction published in Canada.

Read more

Writers’ Trust of Canada Announces Fiction Prize Shortlist

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced the finalists for two fiction prizes: the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing writers of the year’s best novel or short story collection; and the Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, recognizing new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year.

Read more