The Writers’ Union of Canada Announces 21st Annual Short Prose Competition for Developing Writers

TWUCvia The Writers’ Union of Canada

The Writers’ Union of Canada is pleased to launch its 21st Annual Short Prose Competition for Developing Writers, which invites writers to submit a piece of fiction or non-fiction of up to 2,500 words in the English language that has not previously been published in any format. A $2,500 prize will be awarded to an unpublished Canadian writer, and the entries of the winner and finalists will be submitted to three Canadian magazines for consideration. The deadline for entries is March 1, 2014.

For complete rules and regulations, please go to



Canada’s writers and publishers disappointed by U of T and Western’s non renewal of licence


via Access Copyright 

Thousands of Canadian creators and publishers learned today that despite efforts to negotiate new and reasonable rates, the University of Toronto and Western University will not renew their current licences with Access Copyright.

“We are extremely disappointed,” said Roanie Levy, Executive Director of Access Copyright. “Access Copyright’s licence has enabled faculty to create efficient resource packages in both paper and digital form that are tailored to both their needs and those of their students. Millions of pages are shared in this way every year. Roughly 80% of the content copied comes from books. It is unlikely that access to these titles is licensed by the universities through library or institutional subscriptions.”

Instead of paying royalties to creators and publishers it is expected that these institutions will now rely on fair dealing guidelines, which are untested by law and closely replicate the scope of coverage in the Access Copyright licence. These policies represent a self-interested interpretation of what some in the education sector would like the law to be. Clearly fair dealing requires clarification. Renewing licences is difficult without fair dealing guidelines that work for everybody – educators, students, creators and publishers.

A comprehensive licence from Access Copyright provides pre-authorized permission, freeing faculty to systematically select and share resources without concern for copyright infringement, while ensuring appropriate rewards for the creators and publishers whose works are used.

Despite the enormous volume of usage of content in the Access Copyright repertoire, today’s news means that, as of January 1, 2014, University of Toronto and Western University will end more than 20 years of cooperation with Canada’s writing and publishing community.

For faculty who are accustomed to operating under Access Copyright licences, the termination will be accompanied by disruption and uncertainty. Faculty may be asked to change the way they share materials, or to assume greater personal responsibility for copyright, or to select different types of materials.

“Nobody wins in this scenario,” said Levy.”That’s why Access Copyright will continue its work in pursuit of a sustainable interpretation of fair dealing that benefits all those who read, write, teach and learn. Copyright should work for everyone.”

There is much at stake for the future of Canada’s classrooms. Access Copyright believes in a strong and vibrant culture of writing, publishing, reading, teaching and learning in Canada and is exploring new ways to meet the needs of educators and students in this new digital learning environment.

OLA Tutorial Encourages Parent Engagement In School Libraries

olavia OLA 

The Ontario Library Association (OLA), in partnership with Engage Literacy Inc., has launched a free, interactive tutorial that identifies the importance of school libraries in student success.


Alice Munro’s Sales Soar Internationally After Nobel Prize in Literature Win

Munro Is First Canadian Winner; 13th Female Winner

via BookNet Canada

Winning the Nobel Prize in Literature resulted in a significant increase in Alice Munro’s book sales not just in Canada, but also internationally, according to a study released by BookNet Canada. Alice Munro, at Home and Abroad: How the Nobel Prize in Literature Affects Book Sales compares sales data for Alice Munro’s titles in ten countries, before and after her Nobel Prize in Literature win. The Canadian sales data was provided by BookNet Canada; Nielsen Book contributed figures for Australia, India, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Not surprisingly, the increase in sales for Alice Munro’s titles was most pronounced in Canada: when comparing sales in the week ending September 21, 2013, to the week ending October 19 (the week after the win on Oct. 10), her sales increased by 4424%. This increase was probably helped by high stock availability: the paperback edition of her latest book, Dear Life, came out in North America on Oct. 8, two days before the Nobel Prize announcement on Oct. 10. “Since Dear Life was coming out that week, bookstores in Canada had ample stock on hand,” says Pamela Millar, BookNet’s Director of Customer Relations. “Therefore, they were better positioned to meet the increased demand for Munro titles when her Nobel Prize win was announced.”

Interestingly, translations of Alice Munro titles also performed well. In Italy, sales of translated Munro titles increased by 4213%, and in Spain, they increased by 1890% (comparing the week ending September 21, 2013 to the week ending October 19). In the same period, sales of English-language Munro titles outside of Canada increased by anywhere from 369% (Australia) to 2625% (Ireland). In several cases, sales increased even more significantly by the week ending October 26, a lag that may be explained by retailers rushing to increase their stock to meet demand.

BookNet has studied the effect of award wins on Canadian book sales since 2006. Generally, awards increase book sales. For example, between 2006–2012 (but excluding 2010 due to a stock-related anomaly), the average spike in sales for a Giller-winning title was 543% (when comparing sales the week before vs. after the win). In Canada, BookNet studies have shown that the Giller Prize and the Canada Reads awards have the biggest impact on book sales.

Please click here to download a free copy of Alice Munro, at Home and Abroad: How the Nobel Prize in Literature Affects Book Sales (PDF).

Registration is now open for Tech Forum and ebookcraft








via BookNet Canada

Tech Forum 

Tech Forum is an annual conference that focuses on digital developments in the book publishing industry. As the largest tech-focused professional development event in the Canadian publishing industry, it provides hundreds of book industry professionals with the opportunity to learn, debate, network and glimpse the future of our industry. In addition, Tech Forum attendees also receive free admittance to BookNet 101, a mini-conference showcasing successful applications of BookNet services such as SalesData, CataList, BiblioShare, and more.

BookNet 101

BookNet 101 is an afternoon of programming dedicated to helping you get the most out of BookNet’s products and services. Experienced power users will share tips and tricks for streamlining workflows, capitalizing on data reporting, and more.


Do you work with ebooks? Do you dream of using technology to its full potential rather than trying to re-create print books digitally? Come join talented ebook developers for some lively discussions of design, standards, and best practices. ebookcraft is a one-day conference dedicated to ebook production—if you’re looking for a mix of practical tips and forward-thinking inspiration, you won’t want to miss it.


Page 3 of 3612345...102030...Last »