Announcing the Winner of $10,000 Danuta Gleed Literary Award

WINNERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 22nd DANUTA GLEED LITERARY AWARD HALIFAX – The Writers’ Union of Canada announced this evening that Carrianne Leung is the recipient of the $10,000 first prize in the 22nd annual Danuta Gleed Literary Award, recognizing the best first collection of short fiction by a Canadian author published in 2018 in the English language. … Read more

ACP announces 2019 AGM honorees

TORONTO, ONTARIO—(May 27, 2019)—The Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP) is pleased to announce that the late Dr. Gregory Younging, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, will be recognized with the President’s Award at the association’s upcoming AGM. ACP will also present Catherine Mitchell, consultant and ACP volunteer, with honorary lifetime membership in the association.   Younging had a … Read more

Canadian Lawmakers Recommend Sweeping Progressive Improvements to Copyright Law

May 16, 2019 For Immediate Release The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage yesterday released its long-awaited report on artist remuneration, as part of Parliament’s Statutory Review of the Copyright Act. Titled Shifting Paradigms, the report makes twenty-two key recommendations focused on strengthening the rights of artists to control and earn from their work in the digital … Read more

The League of Canadian Poets Announces the 2019 Book Awards Shortlists

Tuesday, April 23, 2019, Toronto, ON: The League of Canadian Poets is excited to announce the 2019 Book Awards Shortlists, including the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, the Pat Lowther Memorial Award, and the Raymond Souster Award. Winners will be announced on Saturday, June 8, 2019, in St. John’s, Newfoundland, at a special awards ceremony to … Read more