2013 CAA Emerging Writer Award Winner Announced

Via the Canadian Authors Association 2013 

The Canadian Authors Association is pleased to announce the 2013 winners of the CAA Emerging Writer Award. This year the award will be shared by two promising literary talents:

Claire Battershill has published fiction, poetry, and reviews in several literary publications. She won the CBC Literary Award for Short Fiction for the title story for her forthcoming collection, Circus. When she was sixteen, she won the League of Canadian Poets’ National Poetic License Contest. In 2008, she worked as a research assistant for Margaret Atwood’s Massey Lecture, Payback. She currently teaches English and Creative Writing at the University of Toronto and the Ontario College of Art and Design.

Jay Bahadar is a Canadian freelance journalist and author of The Pirates of Somalia, published in seven countries and in four languages. When the Somali pirates exploded in international news in late 2008, Bahadur quit his job and flew to Somalia on a quest to meet some present-day buccaneers.

He has published articles in The Times, The New York Times, Financial Times, and The Globe and Mail. He has worked as a freelance correspondent for CBS News, and has appeared on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, CNN, Bloomberg, the BBC, NPR, and the Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

About This Award

Read more

Winners of CAA Literary Awards Revealed

Via Canadian Authors Association

The Canadian Authors Association (CAA) continued its long-held tradition of writers honouring writers and announced the winners of its 2012 Literary Awards competition July 28 during the Leacock Summer Festival in Orillia, Ontario.

Richard Gwyn was awarded the Lela Common Award for Canadian History for Nation Maker (Random House Canada). Gwyn will receive a silver medal and $2000 cash prize. The shortlist for this award included Douglas Gibson (Stories About Storytellers) and Jonathan F. Vance (Maple Leaf Empire).

Patrick deWitt was named the recipient of the CAA Award for Fiction for his novel The Sisters Brothers (House of Anansi), and will also receive a silver medal and $2000 prize. This year’s fiction shortlist included Helen Humphreys (The Reinvention of Love) and Miriam Toews (Irma Voth).

Goran Simić won the CAA Poetry Award for Sunrise in the Eyes of the Snowman (Biblioasis). Simić received a silver medal and $2000 prize. The 2012 poetry shortlist also included E.D. Blodgett (Sleep You a Tree) and Brian Henderson (Sharawadji).

Ryan Flavelle was named the 2012 Emerging Writer for The Patrol: Seven Days in the Life of a Canadian Soldier in Afghanistan (HarperCollins Canada). Flavelle receives a $500 prize.

Read more

CanWrite! 2012 Writers Conference

Via Canadian Authors Association

CanWrite! 2012: Masters, Muses & Magic
May 17 – 21, 2012: Four days, four ways to access masters, muses & magic!

Need to get away from the hustle and bustle of your day-to-day routine ? Are you suffering from a serious case of writers’ block? Want to jump start those creative juices by talking shop with fellow writers? Could that draft you’ve been working on benefit from some constructive feedback from your peers or a professional editor?

If you’ve answered yes to any of these questions, the Canadian Authors Association is delighted to invite you to our 91st annual writers’ conference.

Read more