The 2021 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Book Awards Celebrate Excellence in Literature for Young People, with the Fan Brothers Taking Home the $50K Top Prize

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is excited to announce the winners of its six English‐language children’s book awards. Awarded tonight at a virtual event in Toronto hosted by CBC host Tony Kim, The Barnabus Project by Terry, Eric and Devin Fan, took home the title of most distinguished children’s book of the year and $50,000—the largest … Read more

2022 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award Nomination

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is nominated for the 2022 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA). Among the nominees are a full 282 names from 71 countries including some of the world’s foremost creators of literature for children and young people, as well as reading promoters. You can view the full list here. “The CCBC is … Read more

Canadian Authors responds to the SCC decision in the York vs. Access Copyright suit

The Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) recently issued its long and anxiously awaited decision in the York University vs. Access Copyright case, a decision creators hoped would first, reverse the Federal Court of Appeal’s 2020 ruling that Copyright Board-sanctioned tariffs are not mandatory, and second, affirm the lower federal courts’ ruling that neither York University’s fair dealing … Read more

CPC Responds to SCC Decision in York vs Access Copyright suit

The Canadian Publishers’ Council (CPC) responded to the SCC ruling with disappointment over the on-going market disruption that prevails in the Education sector in Canada. “This SCC decision does nothing to clarify the intended purpose of the Fair Dealing exception introduced in 2012,” said CPC President David Swail. (The SCC ruled 9-0 to dismiss York’s … Read more

Supreme Court Declines to Meaningfully Decide Key Educational Copying Case

Parliament Must End Canada’s Copyright Crisis After a decade of market failure for Canadian writers, and a Federal Court decision featuring overwhelming evidence of illicit copying, the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) has declined to uphold creator rights, clarify fair dealing, or remedy a broken licensing structure that continues to damage both the cultural and … Read more