Catharine Chen is the recipient of the Claudette Upton Scholarship

Via the Editors’ Association of Canada

The Editors’ Association of Canada (EAC) has announced that Catharine Chen is the 2012 recipient of the Claudette Upton Scholarship. The $1,000 cash award, which helps support continuing professional development in editing, will be presented during EAC’s annual conference, scheduled for June 7 to 9 in Halifax.

One might be tempted to assign Chen’s attraction to correctness in writing to the struggle of growing up with a non-traditionally spelled name: “That’s Catharine with two A’s!”—but in fact, like many excellent literary editors, Chen began her career as a creative writer. It was during her MFA in Creative Writing at the University of British Columbia that Chen discovered editing was as fulfilling for her as writing, and maybe even more so. The program’s workshop model encouraged not only non-stop writing, but also the critiquing of her classmates’ writing. She enjoyed analyzing a piece, determining what it might need, dreaming up suggestions and discussing those discoveries with the author.

Read more

Writers’ Trust Rewards Author for Reportage on International Barricades

Via Writers’ Trust of Canada

Marcello Di Cintio Wins the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced tonight at the Politics and the Pen gala that Marcello Di Cintio has won the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing for Walls: Travels Along the Barricades, published by Goose Lane Editions.

The $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize is sponsored by Bell Media and supported by Politics and the Pen.

A jury composed of politician and political scientist Ed Broadbent, National Post and columnist Tasha Kheiriddin, and novelist and translator Daniel Poliquin selected the winner. Their citation reads:

When Ronald Reagan exhorted Mikhail Gorbachev to tear down the Berlin Wall, it was not only a political act. As Marcello Di Cintio discovers, walls divide far more than nations. In this beautifully written reportage, the author brings readers the personal stories – gripping, haunting, humorous, and inspiring – of people living against walls around the world, from the “peaceline” of Belfast to the l’Acadie fence of Montreal.

Read more

2013 PWAC Writing and Editor of the Year Awards

Via the Professional Writers Association of Canada

The 2013 PWAC Writing and Editor of the Year Awards are now open for submissions. Visit to review more detailed criteria and submission/nomination procedures for:

·    Features Writing Award

·    Short Articles Writing Award

·    Editor of the Year Award

Writing Awards are open to both PWAC members and non-members. The first-place winner receives $500 and, if eligible, a free one-year PWAC membership. Submissions must be mailed to the PWAC National Office, 215 Spadina Avenue, Suite 130, Toronto, ON, M5T 2C7. Deadline: entries must be received by February 28, 2013.

Read more