Winners for the 2013 Trillium Book Award Announced

Via the Ontario Media Development Corporation

Winners of Ontario’s foremost prize for literary excellence, the Trillium Book Award, were announced this evening by Michael Chan, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, at a dinner hosted by the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC).

• This year’s winner for the Trillium Book Award in English-language is: Alice Munro, Dear Life: Stories (McClelland & Stewart)

• The winner for the Trillium Book Award in French-language is: Paul Savoie, Bleu bémol (Éditions David)

• This year’s English-language winner for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry is: Matthew Tierney, Probably Inevitable (Coach House Books)

• The winner for the Trillium Book Award for Children’s Literature in French-language is: Claude Forand, Un moine trop bavard (Éditions David)


Read more

Like a Straw Bird It Follows Me, and Other Poems Fady Joudah, translated from the Arabic, written by Ghassan Zaqtan and What’s the Score? David W McFadden Win the 2013 Griffin Poetry Prize

Via the Griffen Poetry Prize

Like a Straw Bird It Follows Me, and Other Poems, translated from the Arabic by Fady Joudah, written by Ghassan Zaqtan and What’s the Score? by David W. McFadden are the International and Canadian winners of the 2013 annual Griffin Poetry Prize. They each received C$65,000 in prize money.

The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in 2000 to serve and encourage excellence in poetry. The prize is for first edition books of poetry written in, or translated into, English and submitted from anywhere in the world.

The awards ceremony, attended by some 400 invited guests, was held at Corus Quay – a new venue featuring a five-storey bio-wall and a wall of glass with doors opening onto a lakefront promenade. Scott Griffin, founder of the prize, and trustees Margaret Atwood, Robert Hass, Michael Ondaatje and David Young hosted the event where the guests enjoyed speeches and readings by Pura López-Colomé and Kyla Kane, first national champion (English Stream) of Poetry In Voice/Les voix de la poésie.

Read more

Ontario Library Association announces the 2013 Winner of the Golden Oak™ Award

The Ontario Library Association is thrilled to announce Joy Fielding is the winner of the 2013 Forest of Reading® Golden Oak™ Award for her book Home Invasion (Grass Roots Press).

“It’s always lovely to get an award for something you love to do, and I am particularly honoured to receive this award because Home Invasion was written specifically for adults who struggle with literacy, and to be acknowledged by them in this way is tremendously gratifying,” Joy Fielding said.

In Home Invasion, Kathy Brown suddenly wakes up. Was that a noise in the house, or part of her dream? In her dream, Kathy was about to kiss Michael, her high school boyfriend. Her husband, Jack, lies beside her, snoring. Michael is exciting. Jack is boring. When Kathy hears the noise again, she gets up. Then she hears whispers. Then she feels a gun at her head. Two men are in the house. Kathy and her husband face a living nightmare. Kathy must also face her real feelings about her husband. The outcome surprises everyone, most of all Kathy herself.

Read more

2012 Tom Fairley Award Short List Announced

Via the Editors’ Association of Canada

The Editors’ Association of Canada (EAC) has announced the finalists for the 2012 Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence. The $2,000 grand prize is awarded annually to an editor who has shown excellence, skill and talent in helping to produce a work published in Canada in English or French in the award year. EAC is also pleased to announce that, in recognition of their outstanding editorial performance, the other finalists will receive a cash prize of $500 each.

Once again, the judges were faced with the difficult task of selecting a short list from a pool of remarkably talented and dedicated editors who brought out the best in their respective publications. One judge in particular glowingly praised “the editors’ unflagging zeal to get at and express the truths that were important to the authors, and their skill in doing so.”

The finalists have been invited to EAC’s awards banquet, to be held during EAC’s 2013 conference in Halifax on June 8.


Read more

19-Year-Old Chloe Hogan-Weihmann’s “Night Cafe” Wins $2,500 Cash Prize – The Writers Union of Canada’s 20th Annual Short Prose Competition

Via the Writers’ Union of Canada

The Writers’ Union of Canada is pleased to announce that Chloe Hogan-Weihmann has won the $2,500 cash prize for its twentieth annual Short Prose Competition for Developing Writers, for the best story under 2,500 words, with her piece “The Night Café.” The Union will submit the winning story and the eleven other shortlisted stories to three Canadian magazine publishers for their consideration.

Chloe Hogan-Weihmann is a 19-year-old university student (doing a B.Sc. in psychology) from Edmonton, Alberta, who just started writing. In her spare time she likes to drink too much coffee, read too many books, and watch too many cartoons. She is trying to learn to play guitar although she is currently impressively bad at it. She is very eager to continue with her writing.

As the Union celebrates its 40th anniversary this year, it also marks 20 years of the Short Prose Competition. The Competition aims to discover, encourage, and promote new writers of short prose who are not yet published in book format, in order to provide opportunity and exposure to developing writers. This year, twenty-four Union members donated their time and expertise to read 505 outstanding submissions and distill them into a long-list of one hundred and two stories. These stories went on to a second round of twenty-two readers who selected the finalists to pass on to the jury: Ami McKay, Rosemary Nixon, and Mark A. Rayner.


“The Night Café” by Chloe Hogan-Weihmann

Read more