Scientist Eric Marshall and Journalist Chris Turner are Joint Recipients of the 2014 Freedom to Read Award

via The Writers’ Union of Canada This year’s award calls attention to recent library closings The Writers’ Union of Canada (TWUC) recognizes the work and accomplishments of scientist Eric Marshall and journalist Chris Turner with its 2014 Freedom to Read Award Eric Marshall, a retired biologist living in British Columbia, built a collection of over 200,000 books that became … Read more

Dale Askey Recipient of the 2014 Award for the Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada from the Canadian Library Association

The Canadian Library Association is pleased to announce that Dale Askey, of McMaster University, has been chosen as winner of the 2014 Award for the Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada for his commitment to intellectual freedom in the face of an unprecedented defamation suit brought against him by the academic publisher Edwin Mellen Press. Mr. Askey, … Read more

The Ontario Library Association Announces 2014 Award Recipients

OLA salutes the best! The Ontario Library Association would like to congratulate the award recipients this year. These awards will be presented during the annual OLA Super Conference, held from January 29, 2013 to February 1, 2014. The award winners are: OLA’s Larry Moore Distinguished Service Award: M.J. D’Elia, Acting Head of the Learning & … Read more

2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize Announces Its Shortlist

October 8, 2013 (Toronto, ON) – Today in a morning press event at the Soho House in downtown Toronto, more than 100 media and members of the publishing industry gathered to hear the 2013 Scotiabank Giller Prize jury announce its shortlist.

The five finalists were chosen by the award-winning, three-member jury empanelled for the 2013 prize: Canadian writers Margaret Atwood and Esi Edugyan; and American author Jonathan Lethem.

Read more

Finalists Announced for 2013 Canadian Children’s Book Centre Awards

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is pleased to announce the finalists for its seven major children’s book awards:

  • TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award  ($30,000)
  • Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse  ($30,000)
  • Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award  ($20,000)
  • Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction  ($10,000)
  • Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People  ($5,000)
  • John Spray Mystery Award  ($5,000)
  • Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy  ($5,000) 

The winners will be announced at the TD Canadian Children’s Literature Awards and Prix TD de littérature canadienne pour l’enfance et la jeunesse – two invitation-only gala events in Toronto on October 22 and Montreal on October 29. Overall, $130,000 in prize monies will be awarded.

The nominated books exemplify some of the best work by Canadian authors and illustrators. The Canadian Children’s Book Centre is proud to share these titles and the juries’ notes with you.

Read more