2015 RBC Taylor Prize shortlist announced

>>From The Charles Taylor Prize

January 14, TORONTO–Noreen Taylor, founder of the RBC Taylor Prize granted for literary non-fiction and chair of the Charles Taylor Foundation, addressed an audience of publishers, booksellers, prize sponsors, and media at the fourteenth annual shortlist announcement. The announcement took place in the Consort Bar at the historic Omni King Edward Hotel in downtown Toronto. 
     Mrs. Taylor was joined by Vijay Parmar, President, PH&N Investment Counsel, RBC Wealth Management,who celebrated the diversity and breadth of subjects covered in this year’s finalist titles. 
     In introducing the 2015 prize jury composed of , Kevin Garland, Martin Levin; and former Charles Taylor Prize winner Andrew Preston, Mrs. Taylor noted the difficult mission facing this year’s jury. From 121 books submitted the jury derived a shortlist that exemplifies the true coming of age of Canadian literary non-fiction. 
     Martin Levin spoke about the process of making their selections, and announced the 2015 RBC Taylor Prize finalists, as follows: Plum Johnson (Toronto, Ontario)They Left Us Everything (Penguin Canada); David O’Keefe (Montreal, Quebec) One Day in August: The Untold Story Behind Canada’s Tragedy at Dieppe(Random House Canada); Barbara Taylor (London, England) The Last Asylum: A Memoir of Madness in our Times (Hamish Hamilton Canada); M. G. Vassanji (Toronto, Ontario) And Home Was Kariakoo: A Memoir of East Africa (Doubleday Canada); Kathleen Winter (Montreal, Quebec) Boundless (House of Anansi Press). 

For more information about the finalists books and authors, please visit the finalists landing page. See the links on the cover images on the finalists landing page for author bios and jury citations. Join the five finalists on February 26 starting at 7 pm at the Toronto Reference Library for a free Round Table discussion. Visit: tpl.ca/taylorprize. For links to high resolution images of the longlist books and links to purchase each title, you can also visit the longlist page 

Leave a Comment